We’re Done!

We had a great last day in Guangzhou. We finished buying Kate’s China gifts. I put one back for each year until she is 18. Not that they are huge gifts, but it does take a lot of time and planning. I will give her a gift from China on each birthday, wrapped in red. I also bought her enough Chinese dresses to make it to age 8. Other than that, we did some souvenir shopping. This can be tricky with weight limits on luggage. I think I made it work though!

More brides on Shamian Island

More photo shoots on Shamian Island

Sophia bought a hair pin. This store owner offered to do her hair, so they pulled up a stool and did it right in the middle of the store. Soph loved it!

The finished product

Then they asked Kate if she wanted her hair done. She was in heaven! Eating ice cream and having her hair done at the same time! Does it get any better?

All done!

The girls and Tim spent some time swimming while I packed. Kate’s visa and consulate approval arrived at the hotel at 4:30, so we headed out.

Saying goodbye to room 618. We will miss you, China!

So sad to say goodbye to Grace and Kathy. They took great care of us in Guangzhou!

Remember how I was happy that we were taking a van rather than the train? Well, the van was pretty miserable too. Our driver was downright erratic, and the traffic was terrible. I don’t even know how to describe how bad it was. He swerved in and out of traffic the whole way, slammed on the brakes, let on and off the gas so that we were constantly slowing down/speeding up, played music from the early 80s and sang along,…you get my drift. Sophia and I were both feeling car sick, and of course you know how badly Kate does in a moving vehicle. Let’s just say that I was so thankful when we made it to the hotel without anyone throwing up. At one point, I thought to myself, “Maybe we could offer for Tim to drive and this guy just join us for the ride.” A matter of minutes later, Tim whispered, “I wish I could have rented a car.” Seriously…it was miserable. Sophia announced to us that it was the worst three hours of the trip. It kind of made the 15 ½ hour flight from Hong Kong to Chicago not seem so bad though.

As we were nearing the hotel tonight, Sophia said, “I want to go home.” I’ve asked her several times over the past two weeks if she wanted to go home, and she said no each time. But, here we are – she’s done. I said, “What if I told you that we could climb The Great Wall tomorrow or go home. Which would you choose?” She said, “Go home.” I said, “What if I told you that we could go to Hong Kong Disneyland tomorrow or go home. Which would you choose?” Again, she said, “Go home.” I said, “I’m with you, sister!”

We’re done. We miss Ella terribly. We want you all to meet our daughter. It’s time to be home. Thank you for following our journey. This is not the end of my posting as I have a TON of pictures to share. You’d like to see if this kid we’ve talked about for the past week and a half is real, right?! As soon as I can wake myself Saturday, I’ll start putting pictures up.

Next stop:
Lexington, KY – 6:15 Friday night. Woo Hoo!

10 thoughts on “We’re Done!

  1. Well, at least you found internet! Just 11 more hours and you’ll be in the air, can’t wait to see you all! Give Soph and Kate a kiss for me!

  2. I have been following your journey faithfully and keeping others up to date on your postings. Everyone sends their best wishes and cant wait to see pictures. May God be with each of you as you travel safely home.

  3. Michelle,
    I don’t know if anyone has mentioned this in regards to Kate’s vomitting, but Samuel was awful about it when we brought him home. I couldn’t make it to walmart, church or sometime even out of the driveway. We ended up giving him benadryl beforehand and made sure he didn’t have any milk base products. It helped greatly, we still had a few episodes but not everytime.
    Marcia

  4. I can’t wait to meet this sweet edition to your precious family. I’m praying for safety as you have began your journey home. We love you all and are so excited.

  5. Sophia,
    Keep all of the wonderful things you have done in China to tell all of you friends at home. Thanks for sharing with us.
    Michele and Tim
    You have done a wonderful job keeping us iinformed. We will miss our daily reports. We pray that you will have an easy flight back home. I know you must be exhausted but you will have Kate, another addition to your family to love and enjoy.
    Kate,
    Welcome to the USA. We look forwarded to meeting you.
    Love this family,
    JD andLil

  6. The gifts that you bought to give to her each year will be so special….what an amazing idea. How lucky your girls are to have you guys help them remember their home country and their heritage!! Can’t wait to see you all!

Leave a Reply

