The Gift of Adoption

I can remember before we adopted Sophia wondering if I could love a child I didn’t give birth to. This was something I debated for months. My turning point was when Matt and Kelli came home with Maia. I can remember telling Tim while they were in China that I knew the depth of their love for Lili, and I just needed to see if was the same for Maia. I needed to know if I could do this too. We met Matt and Kelli for lunch a couple of days after they got home. I distinctly remember Kelli, with tears streaming down her face, telling me how great her love was for this precious baby placed in her arms. It wasn’t a question I asked her, but something she felt compelled to share.

I can’t explain how it works, but there is no question that I love my girls with all I have. While they were not born of me, they are mine. And whether it is an infant or a three year old, it doesn’t matter. The second Kate was given to us, that instinct that she is mine kicked in. And I saw it happen to Tim too.

We are traveling a different, but familiar road this week. Things have quickly improved over the past four days. We have now seen joy on our daughter’s face and heard her laugh. While there are far more quiet, reserved moments, we do see the light there and know that we will be there sooner than later. We have a peace that was not there Monday and Tuesday, and I am so thankful.

“Father to the fatherless, defender of widows — this is God, whose dwelling is holy. God places the lonely in families.”
Psalms 68:5-6

2 thoughts on “The Gift of Adoption

  1. I am so happy for the Sharp family! Kate sounds like a perfect gift from God. Love reading your blog even if I do have tears streaming down!

Leave a Reply

