He Knows My Name

I have wanted to share this news with you, but have just not had the time or Internet access to do it.  On Wednesday night, as I was finishing packing, I had a sense of panic rush over me.  I’m sure a lot of it had to do with extreme exhaustion.  The only time I had sat down all day was when I had my hair cut, and it was 11:45 p.m. at this point.  Some of it though was just another one of those moments of disappointment that we were not going to China to get a baby.  Kate is three.  We have missed a ton.  I was questioning myself about why we had gotten out of the non-special needs line.  We probably would have had a referral for a healthy infant in October.

I was just getting into bed when Tim came in the room and told me that we needed to get on the Internet because people were looking for us regarding Kate.  He had just read an e-mail from one of the ladies I met in the Guilin Yahoo Group.  She (Thanks, Janice!!!) explained that our picture was posted on An Orphan’s Wish FaceBook page.   They were looking for Kate’s new parents.  She sent the link to their website and said, “I’m pretty sure this is you, right?”

So, the answer is, “Yes!  It is us!”  You all have to read this!  Follow this link:   http://www.anorphanswish.org/blog/2012/08/22/sophie-has-a-family/

Be sure to click on all of the highlighted links within the story to see a variety of pictures of her!

So now that you’ve read it, I have to tell you that our specific prayer for Kate over the past two weeks is that God was preparing her heart to join our family.  There has been no guarantee that she understood who we were or that we would be her new family.  As I read this blog post on An Orphan’s Wish website, tears streamed down my face.  Who am I to doubt God’s plan for our family?  This little girl knows exactly who we are and is excited to be in our family.  And who can ignore that the American name given to her by the staff at An Orphan’s Wish was Sophie?!  Oh my!

The crazy thing about An Orphan’s Wish is that I have known about this organization for a long time.  In early July, I realized that they work in Kate’s province and could have been the ones who did her casting.  I searched for her on July 12 on their website.  I only found one baby who somewhat matched her description.  Her name was Sophie, her birthday was July 2009, but it listed her as having clubfeet.  I didn’t think it was her since Kate only had one clubfoot.  To see to description that I saw in July, go to:  http://www.anorphanswish.org/component/com_ourgraduates/Itemid,87/

Our last stop Thursday morning before the airport was breakfast with Mom and Dad at DQ on Versailles Rd.  As we sat down to eat and for me to tell them about the news from An Orphan’s Wish, I was shocked by what I heard.  Lexington’s WJIE (Christian radio) was playing in DQ.  I had not paid any attention to the music when we walked in, but the song now playing was “He Knows My Name”.  Do you know that song?  I first heard it when we were waiting for Sophia.  It’s always touched me as I have felt like it speaks to the orphan.  God has always known Kate and held her in his hand regardless of her circumstances.

He Knows My Name (lyrics) 

I have a Maker
He formed my heart
Before even time began
My life was in his hands

I have a Father
He calls me His own
He’ll never leave me
No matter where I go

He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
And He hears me when I call

9 thoughts on “He Knows My Name

  1. I am sooooo excited for you Michelle!! God has chosen YOU specifically to be that precious little girls momma!! (Oh my goodness, the picture of her in that red outfit is just adorable!!!!) And He has ordered all of your steps to bring you to Kate. He knew even before you did that you would switch to the SN program….because Kate was meant to be YOURS!! Even when the days get rough and you begin to doubt yourself again, know that better days will follow. He is always there to pick you back up again! I’m so happy to follow along on your journey!

    Speaking of the amazing “name game” God is sharing with us….after I saw that facebook post and emailed you, I started to wonder if by chance our daughter, Emily, was ever at the House of Love. (And I too had come across their website several months ago and had looked at the photos!) Well, as I looked at the graduate page, her little face jumped right out at me. I confirmed the following morning that, yes, it is Emily!!!! And guess what her American name at the HOL was……Michelle!!!!! 🙂 How amazing is that???! Here’s a link to her little picture! : http://anorphanswish.org/meet-our-graduates/michelle.html

    Take care…..thinking of you and praying for you and your family!! 🙂
    Janice

  2. Janice said it beautifully…He has orchestrated this and she was created for you and Tim. He opened your heart to Kate, He has walked every step before you, He has her and He has you and He will continue to be faithful. We are praying for you guys every step of the way!

    Fran

  3. God created her just for your family. He’s got it all planned out down to all the littlest details. I love that her name was Sophie in the orphanage! I shared your blog on my FB tonight. Your family was the one who opened my eyes to adoption and I love all 3 of your girls more than I can express. Still praying!

  4. I stumbled upon your blog via Melanie Dearing. This story brings me so much joy! I am so happy for your beautiful family. Congrats! Maybe one day I can meet your girls and you could meet my little family. Its been a very long time. Love to you all

    • Hi, Erica! It’s so good to hear from you! 🙂 I heard that you have a sweet baby. I worked last year for New Haven with Danny and your dad. Tim and I would love to see you sometime you’re in town! 🙂 Thanks for “stopping by”!

  5. What an incredible story!! They gave her the name Sophie??!! That’s no coincidence!! Kind of crazy to see your own photo on another person’s blog!! 🙂

  6. That is an amazing story. What peace that must bring you to know your little girl is as excited to meet you as you are to meet her. Are you going to get to meet up with this organization? I hope so, it looks like they will be able to fill in many of the details of Kate’s first 3 years.

Leave a Reply

